Home > Uncategorized > Things Are Ok

Things Are Ok

Boy, it didn’t take long for me to start neglecting this blog. I had hoped to update it about once a week, but as you can see, that has not been happening. Perhaps the main reason I haven’t been posting is that I haven’t felt depressed much lately. I’ve been feeling well enough to spend my time living, I suppose, rather than writing about the depression that keeps me from living.

Things are going fairly well. Not perfectly, but pretty well. Work has been up and down, with a few short lulls and one period of intense pressure, but for the most part, the workload has been manageable and my income has been good. Not great, but not bad, just good. My back has been bothering me, but not so much that I have been bedridden or couldn’t work. It has been bad enough that I wonder how much longer I can keep working at something that keeps me sitting at the computer so much. So, work is a bit of a question mark, but not a source of anxiety yet.

I have time to read, so that has been fun. I’m currently reading The Well-Educated Mind, On Writing Well, and Sophie’s World. I’ve been playing mandolin, practising scales and songs I know, but not learning many new songs.

I think I’ve become complacent lately. Things have been ok, and I’ve been content with that. I’m not miserable, nor am I passionately engaged in anything. Perhaps I need short periods of time like this to coast temporarily. I expect to have a gap in my work schedule after tomorrow, so I will have time to get into one or two personal projects. I’m looking forward to that.

My mood has been ok, sometimes good, and rarely bad lately. I’m grateful for that.

Take care of each other.

J

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 8, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    So you’re playing mandolin, too! Good for you. Hang in there. Reg.

    • April 8, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      Hi Reg, it’s good to hear from you. Yes, I bought a mandolin four years ago and took a course last spring. That was fun, but since then I have stagnated a bit.

      How are your lessons going?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

