Home > Uncategorized > The Catch-22 of Depression Blogs

The Catch-22 of Depression Blogs

November 24, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s difficult keeping up a depression blog, isn’t it? When I feel depressed, I can’t motivate myself to write, and when I feel well, I don’t feel a need to blog about depression. It’s the catch-22 of keeping a depression blog.

In the time since I last posted—over 2 years—I’ve had long periods when I felt pretty good. I’ve had two terrific summers, some of my best in years: canoe-camping trips, music festivals and a family trip to New York City with my three sisters have filled the summer months with fun and adventure. Winters are slower times for me, and I have to push myself to get out of the house every day and not isolate myself too much.

I’ve also taken on a volunteer job, becoming involved in a political cause. It’s been very rewarding, but I have to carefully manage my commitments and stress level. If I become too stressed, my mood starts to slip.

You know what it’s like. It starts to take longer and longer to get out of bed in the morning. The cupboard becomes bare because you can’t be bothered to go grocery shopping. Little things drive you crazy: people being nice to you, the length of the lineup at the checkout, somebody whistling, annoying songs on the radio.

You have 1001 things you could do with your spare time, but you don’t feel like doing any of them. You have a stack of books you want to read soon, but none of them interest you at the moment. Every thing you try to do takes more energy than it should.

I wish I could identify the factors that make my mood rise and fall. Is it diet? I eat pretty healthy, better than most people—except for the occasional sugar binge. Stress? I try to keep life simple and easy, but when you have an anxiety disorder, almost anything can become a source of stress. Inactivity? I’ve been going to a gym pretty regularly and generally keeping fairly busy. The long, cold winter? Sleep deprivation? My sleep has not improved as much as I had hoped when I started using the CPAP machine in 2011 to treat my sleep apnea. I haven’t taken antidepressant medication in over 10 years, and unless something changes, I may never again.

I’ve been feeling the urge to write again, so here I am, reviving this blog, hoping to keep posting on a regular basis. We’ll see how long it lasts this time.

J

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Jen
    November 25, 2015 at 10:28 am

    I am a depression blogger and I stopped blogging. I don’t have the energy but I have to get back.

  2. November 25, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    Hi Jen. I remember you from a few years ago. It’s good to hear from you. Start blogging again with something easy, just a hello.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

